FIFA Technical Report: World Cup 2018 Russia

FIFA Technical Study Group at the 2018 FIFA World Cup

The 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ will be a historic football event that will showcase the best players on the planet as well as landmark innovations such as the use of video assistant referees and electronic or communication equipment in the technical area for coaching purposes and player safety.

In this context, the FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG) – which has been present at every FIFA World Cup since 1966 – will analyse the matches of FIFA’s flagship event and evaluate statistical data using the latest technologies.

All TSG experts have valuable World Cup experience either as coaches or players, including Carlos Alberto Parreira and Bora Milutinović, the only two managers to have coached five teams at the competition.

The TSG is under the umbrella of FIFA’s Coaching & Player Development Department led by Branimir Ujević, which will support the TSG throughout the tournament.

FIFA Technical Study Group at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™

Head – Carlos Alberto Parreira (Brazil)

One of the most experienced coaches in the history of the international game, Parreira understands multiple aspects of what it takes to lead a national team at a major tournament, having also worked as a fitness coach and as a technical director for Brazil over the years. Parreira guided Brazil to the 1994 World Cup title and holds the record for appearing in the most World Cups as a coach (six).

Emmanuel Amunike (Nigeria)

Amunike played for the successful Nigeria team at the 1994 World Cup when the country made their debut on the world stage. He scored two goals in the Super Eagles’ campaign, helping them reach the round of 16, where they were defeated by eventual finalists Italy after extra time. He has also experienced success as a coach, leading Nigeria to the FIFA U-17 World Cup title in 2015.

Bora Milutinović (Serbia)

Milutinović is one of the most experienced coaches in World Cup history, with a diverse CV to boot. He led five different nations in five consecutive World Cups: Mexico (1986), Costa Rica (1990), USA (1994), Nigeria (1998) and China PR (2002). Known as ‘The Miracle Worker’, Milutinović also became the first coach to lead four different nations to the knockout stage of the competition.

Andy Roxburgh (Scotland)

Roxburgh is one of the most successful coaches in Scottish football history. He led his homeland at the 1990 World Cup, where they narrowly missed out on the knockout stages after being drawn into a difficult group, and he has since used his expertise in the game to lead various organisations’ technical departments. Roxburgh has been a FIFA TSG member at six FIFA World Cup editions.

Marco van Basten (Netherlands)

One of the greatest forwards of all time and the FIFA World Player of the Year in 1992, Dutch legend Van Basten played in four matches at the 1990 World Cup in Italy, helping the Netherlands reach the round of 16, where they were narrowly defeated by eventual winners West Germany. He has been FIFA Chief Technical Development Officer since September 2016, and he currently heads up all technical areas at the governing body.

In line with the 2018 FIFA World Cup regulations, the TSG will be responsible for deciding the following award winners:

  • adidas Golden, Silver and Bronze Boots for the leading goalscorers (if two or more players score the same number of goals, the number of assists, as determined by the TSG members, will be decisive)
  • adidas Golden, Silver and Bronze Balls for the best players
  • adidas Golden Glove Award for the best goalkeeper
  • Young Player Award for the best player born on or after 1 January 1997
  • Fair Play Award (the TSG will determine the ranking at the end of the final competition)

Following the conclusion of the 2018 FIFA World Cup, a technical report, which will include comprehensive statistics, will be produced by the TSG and distributed among FIFA’s member associations.

The TSG’s technical reports produced since 1966 then can be found here.